

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2021/22

Thursday 3 February 2022 10:00 At Christ Church, Lord Street, Southport

Charity Number: 1164448

Present: Paddy McNeish, Sharon Partington, Jim Hay, Viv Pulman, Dawn Oldfield, Ian Homewood, Moira Ralph, Jean Stewart

Apologies for Absence: Ilush and David Bricknell **Declaration of Interest:** None

 Welcome by the Chair: Paddy McNeish called the meeting to order and introduced Paul Carter who expressed appreciation of the Committee's work on behalf of the members. Particular thanks went to Phil Watling, Sharon Partington and Alan Patmore for their service, Brian Tyler for his contribution to the Beacon system, Ian Homewood for his work on communications media and Steve Hardwick for his work on the website. Attendees were advised that only fully paid up members were entitled to vote. With over 150 members attending a quorum had been achieved

2. Acceptance of the Minutes of the 2020/21 AGM:

Proposed: Brian Mitchell Seconded: Bob Jones Agreed unanimously by a show of hands. There were no abstentions.

3. Matters Arising: None

4. Chair's Report: Paddy McNeish reported on a busy year despite the limitations imposed by the pandemic. Highlights of the year included Paul Carter's development of the Facebook site, Ian Homewood and Jim Hay's introduction of the new website and magazine and the appointment of Moira Ralph as Treasurer on Alan Patmore's retirement. Looking forward measures were now being explored to address waiting lists for popular groups. A stand and garden plot at the 2022 Southport Flower Show had been successfully negotiated along with a discount on early bird tickets for U3A members nationally.

5. Treasurer's Report: The Treasurer's report including income, annual expenditure, yearend balance and details of assets and liabilities had been made available to all members. Moira Ralph ran through the headline figures and advised that J A Fell and Co would be carrying out an independent examination of the Accounts at the 2022 financial year end. She thanked Group Leaders and Group Treasurers for their excellent contribution and received a resounding round of applause at the end of her report.

6: Approval of the Examined Accounts (balance sheet)

Proposed: Geoff Matthews Seconded: Linda Watling Approved unanimously by a show of hands. There were no abstentions.

7: Approval of the Continued Appointment of J A Fell and Co as Examiners for the Accounts

Proposed: Phil Watling Seconded: Bobbie Matthews Agreed unanimously by a show of hands. There were no abstentions.

8: Adoption of the New Constitution

Amendments to the previous constitution had been made available to all members and there were no objections. Acceptance was

Proposed: Brian Mitchell Seconded: Viv Connolly Agreed unanimously by a show of hands. There were no abstentions.

9. Election of Officers and Committee Members

Having completed her term as Vice Chair Sharon Partington was stepping down. The following had been nominated and offered themselves for election

Paddy McNeish as Chair -	Proposed: Barrie Partington
	Seconded: Yvonne Hay
Christine Howorth as Vice Chair-	Proposed: Yvonne McCulloch
	Seconded: Howard Trotter
Brian Muddiman as Secretary -	Proposed: Gwynn Owen
	Seconded: Yvonne Hay
Moira Ralph as Treasurer -	Proposed: Brenda Jones
	Seconded: David Bricknell
Jim Hay as Membership Secretary -	Proposed: Susan Birchall
	Seconded: Mary Hardwick
Dawn Oldfield as Group Activities	Proposed: Ilush Bricknell
Coordinator	Seconded: Geoff Matthews
Viv Pulman as Social Secretary -	Proposed: Bobbie Matthews
	Seconded: Bob Jones
Ian Homewood IT and Publications-	Proposed: Stephen Birchall
	Seconded: Steven Hardwick

As there were no contested posts it was proposed the nominations be considered en bloc.

Proposed: Marianne Kavanagh Seconded: Eileen Gallagher Agreed unanimously by a show of hands. There were no abstentions.

It was proposed the members nominated be elected as Trustees of Southport U3A

Proposed: Brenda Wall Seconded: Derek Kershaw Agreed unanimously by a show of hands. There were no abstentions.

Christine Howorth and Brian Muddiman joined the Committee on the stage.

10: Chair's Closing Remarks: Paddy McNeish thanked Sharon Partington for her service to the Committee and closed the meeting at 11:00.